After defeating Fiji only four times in the history of the Rugby Sevens, the United States pulled off an upset victory, 21-14 this past weekend, in the Plate final in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. The disappointing loss and an earlier loss to Australia in the Quarterfinals dropped Fiji to second place in the Sevens series standings. The top four teams gain automatic berths to the 2016 Olympics in Rio.