IAAF Diamond League Begins in Doha

Brenes of Costa Rica, Merritt of the U.S. and Pistorius of South Africa compete during men's 400 metres event at the Golden Spike International track and field meeting in OstravaLaShawn Merritt (REUTERS/Petr Josek)

Ten reigning or former Olympic Champions, plus 25 more Olympic Games medalists are poised to compete at the IAAF Diamond League kick-off meeting in Doha on May 9 at 12 PM ET on Universal Sports. 

The IDL Doha 2014 will also feature 25 current or former World Champions as well as 28 silver and bronze medalists from the IAAF’s flagship event. Furthermore, 12 athletes from this season’s star-studded line-up have been crowned World Indoor Champions and additionally ten have won silver or bronze.

“We are keeping the tradition of bringing on elite athletes in Doha alive and we respect our commitment for high quality standards in every field of this great one-day event. Introducing a roster like that is an essential prerequisite for yet another successful Doha Diamond League meeting,” said the President of the Qatar Athletics Association Dahlan Al Hamad.

“On Friday May 9 at the Qatar Sports Club stadium we will have with us the following Olympic Games winners: LaShawn Merritt in the 400m, David Rudisha in the 800m, Asbel Kiprop in the 1500m, Brimin Kipruto and Ezekiel Kemboi in the 3000m Steeplechase, the latter twice winner at Olympics, Ivan Ukhov in High Jump, Christian Taylor the Olympic Triple Jump Champion in Long Jump, Gerd Kanter in Discus Throw, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce in the 100 and Valerie Adams in Shot Put, both double Olympic Champions.”

New Zealand’s Valerie Adams is the most dominant figure in women’s athletics and her supremacy in Shot Put is undisputed. Apart from her two Olympic golds she may boast as well of four outdoor and three indoor World titles, and will arrive in Doha with a win streak of 46 finals. She hasn’t lost a competition since August 2010.

Kenya’s Asbel Kiprop, the 800m winner in 2011 in Doha, is rated amongst the top 1500m runners of all time, with successive wins in the last two World Championships in Daegu and Moscow. His fellow compatriots, Brimin Kipruto and Ezekiel Kemboi have won all but one (the 2005 World crown went to Qatar’s Saif Saaeed Shaheen) available Olympic and World title since 2004!

In field events, Christian Taylor of the U.S. who will compete in both Long Jump and Triple Jump this season is not only the current Olympic Triple Jump Champion, but also the former World Champion both indoors and outdoors. Estonia’s Gerd Kanter, one of the Discus Throw legends, has two Olympic Games (gold and bronze) and five World Championships medals (one gold, two silver, two bronze) to his tally.

The long list with IDL Doha 2014 Olympic Games, World indoor and outdoor medalists includes:

200m: Nickel Ashmeade, Warren Weir (Jamaica), Femi Ogunode (Qatar), Curtis Mitchell (USA);

400m: Pavel Maslák (Czech Republic), Luguelin Santos (Dominican Republic), Josh Mance, LaShawn Merritt, Tony McQuay (USA);

800m: David Rudisha (Kenya), Nijel Amos (Botswana), Andrew Osagie (UK);

1500m: Ayanleh Souleiman (Djibouti), Mekonnen Gebremedhin, Aman Wote (Ethiopia), Silas Kiplagat, Asbel Kiprop (Kenya), Johan Cronje (South Africa), Ilhan Tanui Özbilen (Turkey);

110m Hurdles: Ryan Brathwaite (Barbados), Pascal Martinot-Lagarde (France), Sergey Shubenkov (Russia), David Oliver, Omoghan Osaghe, Ryan Wilson (USA);

3000m Steeplechase: Ezekiel Kemboi, Birmin Kiprop Kipruto, Conselsus Kipruto, Paul Kipsiele Koech, Abel Kiprop Mutai (Kenya);

High Jump: Donald Thomas (Bahamas), Derek Drouin (Canada), Robbie Grabarz (UK), Mutaz Essa Barshim (Qatar), Ivan Ukhov (Russia), Andriy Protsenko (Ukraine), Erik Kynard, Jesse Williams (USA);

Long Jump: Chris Tomlinson (UK), Luis Alberto Rivera Morales (Mexico), IgnisiousGaisah (Netherlands), Godfrey Khotso Mokoena (South Africa), Christian Taylor (USA);

Discus Throw: Gerd Kanter (Estonia), Ehsan Hadadi (Iran), Piotr Malachowski (Poland);


100m: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Carrie Russell, Kerron Stewart (Jamaica), Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria), Alexandria Anderson, English Gardner (USA);

800m: Jennifer Meadows, Marilyn Okoro (UK), Janeth Jepkosgei, Eunice Jepkoech Sum (Kenya), Chanelle Price (USA);

3000m: Almaz Ayana, Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia), Mercy Cherono, Hellen Obiri (Kenya);

400m Hurdles: Eilidh Child (UK), Kaliese Spencer (Jamaica), Lashinda Demus, Dalilah Muhammad (USA);

Pole Vault: Yarisley Silva (Cuba), Jirina Svobodova (Czech Republic), Anna Rogowska (Poland);

Triple Jump: Keila Da Silva Costa (Brazil), Caterine Ibargüen (Colombia), Kimberley Williams (Jamaica), Anna Pyatykh (Russia), Olha Saladukha (Ukraine);

Shot Put: Valerie Adams (New Zealand), Yevgeniya Kolodko (Russia), Michelle Carter (USA);

Javelin Throw: Kimberley Mickle (Australia), Linda Stahl (Germany), Sunette Viljoen (South Africa)

(From IAAF Diamond League Press Release) 

Having trouble? Request help here. Universal Sports is happy to receive your questions, feedback or comments. Please complete the customer service form below and a Universal Sports representative will respond to your inquiry.